(402) 339-6592         Sarpy County Cooperative Head Start
Fostering the development and well-being of children and their families in Sarpy County.

Welcome to Sarpy County Cooperative Head Start

Sarpy County Cooperative Head Start, a cooperative program of the Bellevue, Gretna, Papillion-La Vista, and Springfield-Platteview school districts, provides services to children ages birth to five and their families through itís center-based and home-based programs.

Head Start is a national program that promotes school readiness by enhancing the social and cognitive development of children through the provision of educational, health, nutritional, social and other services to enrolled children and families. Parents are engaged in their childrenís learning and are involved in the administration of the program.

The Office of Head Start, the Administration for Children and Families, and the Department of Health and Human Services administer Head Start programs.

Sarpy County Cooperative Head Start currently serves 221 children in Sarpy County, Nebraska. Pregnant women, infants and toddlers receive Early Head Start services through either a home-based or a 7.5 hour center-based program and preschoolers attend 3.5 or 6.5 hour Head Start centers.